Basketball New Zealand

You are here > Home / News / Tall Ferns Trial Squad named for China Tour

Tall Ferns Trial Squad named for China Tour

Tagged in: , , , ,

June 9, 2011

The following players have been selected to attend the Tall Ferns’ trial to be held from the 10th–15th June in Auckland. A squad of 12 athletes will be selected prior to departure to China on Wednesday, to compete in the Four Nations Competition against Australia, Brazil and China.

Kate Alemann Mineral Area College, Missouri
Micaela Cocks Sandringham Sabres
Gemma Curry North Sydney Bears
Rebecca Dew University of Hawaii Rainbow Wahine
Antonia Edmondson Bendigo Braves
Samara Gallaher Otago
Natasha  Hall North Harbour
Jillian Harmon Pool Comense, Como, Italy
Amanda Harris North Harbour
Jordan Hunter Crowder College Lady Riders
Aroha Jennings Waikato Wizards
Karlene Kingi North Harbour
Patrice McKenzie Otago
Kate McMeeken-Ruscoe Bulleen Bomers
Natalie Taylor (Purcell) University of Limerick Women’s Superleague
Georgina Richards Waverley Falcons
Erin Rooney Monmouth Hawks
Miriam Slatter Waikato Wizards
Chelsea Terei Waitakere
Jelena  Vucinic Lousiana Tech Lady Techsters
Lisa Wallbutton Albury Wodonga Lady Bandits

The following  junior athletes have been invited to attend for their development but are not trialing for the team: Rhaiah Spooner-Knight, Penina Davidson, Josephine Stokill, Terai-ma-teata Sadler, Alicia Carline (McEwen), Bayley Ross-Waitai.

Seasoned veterans Suzie Bates and Angela Marino are unavailable for this tour due to other commitments, with long term Tall Fern Noni Wharemate announcing her retirement earlier this year.